About the Awards

The Fire Awareness Awards were first developed and launched in 1983 by Victoria’s three fire agencies Forest Fire Management Victoria, Metropolitan Fire Brigade and Country Fire Authority and after the devastating Ash Wednesday fires as a way to encourage and acknowledge the development of local community grass roots programs that help reduce the effects of fire in Victoria.

Attracting up to 200 applications each year, the Fire Awareness Awards, with the support of RACV Insurance, ABC Radio Victoria and Emergency Management Victoria have continued to recognise and celebrate communities for their fire prevention, protection and recovery activities across Victoria, Australia.

The Fire Awareness Awards are proudly supported by long term partner RACV Insurance who hosts the Awards presentation evening.  They also sponsor the RACV Insurance Award for Excellence, which includes a $10,000 prize to recognise excellence in fire safety.

In addition, the Fire Awareness Awards receive valued media support from emergency broadcaster ABC Radio Victoria and the Awards are also supported by Emergency Management Victoria (EMV).

Entrants who are selected as finalists by the judging panels will be invited to the 2017 Fire Awareness Awards ceremony in December where the winners will be announced.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Proudly Supported by RACV

%d bloggers like this: