Fire Awareness Awards finalists announced

Media Release Tuesday 31 October 2017

An outstanding line-up of finalists have been announced for this year’s annual Fire Awareness Awards.

The broad range of entries reflect the important work done by community groups, industry and government agencies.

Run by Victoria’s fire agencies – Forest Fire Management Victoria (FFMVic), Country Fire Authority (CFA) and Metropolitan Fire Brigade (MFB) – the finalists will be acknowledged at a ceremony in Melbourne in early December.

“The quality of this year’s entries was outstanding, demonstrating that Victorians understand the importance of fire awareness and safety,” Forest Fire Management Victoria Chief Fire Officer Stephanie Rotarangi said.

“The nominations acknowledge the effort that community groups and industry members put into helping protect their communities.”

“We look forward to congratulating all finalists and presenting the awards at the ceremony in December.”

Finalists for the 2017 Fire Awareness Awards are: 

  • A simple way to promote the Fire Danger Period – led by Whittlesea/Diamond Valley Community Engagement Workgroup
  • Ash Wednesday Bushfire Education Centre (AWBEC) – led by Ash Wednesday Bushfire Education Centre Committee of Management and Ash Wednesday Memorial Project Committee
  • Asylum Seeker Employment Pathways – led by Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning and St Joseph’s Flexible Learning Centre
  • Balmoral Fire Connect – led by Southern Grampians Glenelg Primary Care Partnership
  • Barnawartha – Indigo Valley Bushfire Recovery – led by Indigo Valley Bushfire Community Recovery Committee
  • Benloch Community Recovery – led by Benloch Residents
  • Best Laid Plans – led by Jan Osmotherly
  • Cape Otway Fuel Reduction and Ecological Burns Program – led by Conservation Ecology Centre
  • District 20 Smoking Ceremony – led by CFA District 20 and Rochester Fire Brigade
  • Djandak Wi – traditional burning returns – led by Forest Fire Management Victoria and Dja Dja Wurrung Clans Aboriginal Corporation
  • Emergency Management digital screens project – led by East Gippsland Shire Council Emergency Management Team
  • Emergency Management Visuals – led by Knox City Council Family and Children’s Services Emergency Management and Occupational Health and Safety Working Group
  • Emergency Ready Mansfield – led by Mansfield Shire Council
  • Fire safety engineering in timber buildings – led by Lendlease
  • Fireball – led by The Fireball Committee
  • Forrest & Barwon Downs Communities “Bushfire Scenario – Know your Risks and Determine your Options” – led by Forrest Neighbourhood House and Forrest & District Community Group
  • Funtime Storytime – led by Eastern Regional Libraries and Ferntree Gully CFA
  • Harvest Fire Mitigation Workshops – led by Kevin Bolwell, CFA West Region and EMMETTS Agricultural Dealership Horsham
  • Kinglake Lions Community Tool Library – led by The Kinglake Ranges Lions Club
  • Living with Bushfire Community Conference 2016 – led by Yarra Ranges Council and the Municipal Fire Management Planning Committee
  • Monterey Fire Ready – led by Monterey Secondary College, Magenta Safety Training and Parks Victoria
  • Strathewen Education Partnership – Fire Danger Rating Animation – led by Strathewen Primary School and the Arthurs Creek Strathewen Fire Brigade
  • The St Andrews Conversations – led by Nillumbik Shire Council, Department of Environment, Land Water and Planning and St Andrews CFA
  • UFTG CFA Local Preparedness Videos – led by Upper Ferntree Gully Fire Brigade (CFA)
  • Wiyn-murrup Yangarramela – fire spirit comes back – led by Corangamite Catchment Management Authority

 The awards have been presented for more than 30 years by Victoria’s fire agencies and are supported by RACV Insurance, ABC Radio Victoria and Emergency Management Victoria.

The awards will be presented on Monday 4 December at the RACV City Club, where finalists will be invited to celebrate alongside industry and government representatives. The evening will be hosted by ABC Radio Victoria presenter Warwick Long, while the guest speaker will be Bruce Pascoe, award-winning Australian writer, editor and anthologist.

RACV Insurance will be awarding the RACV Insurance Award for Excellence worth $10,000 for the most outstanding application.

Proudly Supported by RACV

%d bloggers like this: